Rpms for backhoe

/ Rpms for backhoe #1  

thunder86

Silver Member
Tractor
Bobcat ct4045
I have a bobcat ct4045 and I’m wondering what rpms I should run my backhoe at? I looked through my manual on the backhoe and I’m not seeing anything. I’m assuming it’s between the normal two lines for running a pto implement.
Also I’m not good at running the backhoe yet, terrible actually, and want to run it lower so I don’t jerk as much. Is it ok to run it with the throttle low? Thanks.

/ Rpms for backhoe #4  
I have a bobcat ct4045 and I’m wondering what rpms I should run my backhoe at? I looked through my manual on the backhoe and I’m not seeing anything. I’m assuming it’s between the normal two lines for running a pto implement.
Also I’m not good at running the backhoe yet, terrible actually, and want to run it lower so I don’t jerk as much. Is it ok to run it with the throttle low? Thanks.
I would say that typically as long as you are not lugging the engine you are ok. I usually operate between 1400 and 2000 rpm. I always believe it's better to be smooth than fast when operating machinery. You tend to have less mechanical failures and cheaper maintenance.

The only thing I am not sure about is how rpm and load relate to the new emissions systems. Perhaps someone else can pipe in here that has more knowledge about regen cycles and if a certain rpm might reduce the frequency of that having to happen.

Hope this helps!!

/ Rpms for backhoe #5  
Run it a the RPM the backhoe works best for you.
The speed/control of my backhoe works best for me If I run around 2100 RPM

/ Rpms for backhoe #6  
AFAIK, the only difference engine RPM makes to the hydraulic system is flow rate; pressure should be pretty consistent regardless*.

So definitely to begin with, lower RPMs to keep flow rate down so you can get used to controlling the machine without it moving too rapidly. It should be able to dig the same at 1500 as 2500 rpm, just at a different speed.