Single acting cylinder to JD 4520

/ Single acting cylinder to JD 4520 #1  

greasemonkeyok

Veteran Member
Tractor
JD cut
Please pardon my extreme ignorance, as I have little hydraulic plumbing experience. The tractor is a JD 4520 CUT with standard factory connectors for the FEL, but no rear hydraulic connectors (that I can find).

I need to connect a single-acting toplink cylinder (on a cement mixer running on the 3pt PTO). The tractor end of the hose will connect to a 1/2" - 14 NPT standard hydraulic quick coupler tip.

Is it possible to run a hose from one or more of the FEL connectors (the on the right side of engine) to drive the toplink cylinder? I guess the FEL cylinders are all dual action?

A second question, can this be accomplished by installing a kit to establish connectors at the rear of the tractor?

I have read through many of the posts here, and they all seem very helpful - except I need a guide for the abbreviations.

Thanks
Greasemonkeyok

/ Single acting cylinder to JD 4520 #2  
Welcome to the forum
You can add the 3rd SCV (kit) to your tractor and get the dual connectors at the rear.

Also, you can connect to one of the 4 connectors used by the FEL (disabling that function of the FEL). Coupler tip may not be the correct one, but Deere can get you the right one.

/ Single acting cylinder to JD 4520 #3  
Welcome to TBN:D

As BT wrote, you can get a kit to add rear remote to your machine-you actually already have the valve, but the kit includes the lever, hardlines and hardware to make it work.

You can also use the front remote from your loader...and a SA (single acting) cylinder will work by just plugging the one hose in and leaving the other port open.

/ Single acting cylinder to JD 4520
Thanks for the quick reply.

Is the 3rd SCV Kit aftermarket or JD, and does it come with detailed instructions? I'm not afraid to tackle mechanical tasks if the risks and danger points are known.

Thanks

/ Single acting cylinder to JD 4520 #5