Solid Works

/ Solid Works #1  

NoTrespassing

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota 1999 L3710 HST FWA
Are there any Solid Works users here? Did you take a class or self taught? We have several seats available where I work and my coworker taught himself to use the program using a book. He's no expert but he's doing pretty well. I just bought a new laptop and plan to teach myself Solid Works. I'm trying to decide whether to start with the tutorials or the book that we have. They seem to take two entirely different approaches. I've got a good base to start with having studied drafting and using AutoCAD for 20 years.

Kevin

/ Solid Works #2  
What version? SW is very intuitive. Id suggest rhe tutorials first. Ive never liked the book exercises. The hardest part is learning the terminology and finding commands.

/ Solid Works #3  
While Solidworks has gained a big marketshare, AutoCad has made a comeback. I like the new Autodesk revit concept and price. I'm trying to remember their $25/month cad they'll sell you.
Solidworks has a large user base, because of it's popularity on college campuses. It is great stuff but expensive.

We have Creo at work which is a descendant of Pro E. I have not gotten used to it because it is different format. You can do tutorials on Youtube. If you have dual screens, put the tutorial on one screen and your solidworks on the other.

My brother told me a long time ago, you dance best with the partner you learned to dance with.

/ Solid Works
While Solidworks has gained a big marketshare, AutoCad has made a comeback. I like the new Autodesk revit concept and price. I'm trying to remember their $25/month cad they'll sell you.
Solidworks has a large user base, because of it's popularity on college campuses. It is great stuff but expensive.