pto backup generator

/ pto backup generator #42  
I have a 12KW Baumalight trailer mount generator I've been using for 10 years now. For weather protection, I leave the generator in the barn with the tractor outside and close the overhead door so it just clears the driveshaft. Although the trailer mount takes up a bit more floor space, I find it quicker and easier to hook up than a 3pt mount.

/ pto backup generator #43  
I used to have a 8kw gas portable but getting up in the middle of the night to fuel it was a pain. Looked at the pto he set but finally settled on a Koehler 12kw fueled by propane. Our fuel supplier got tired of servicing the pigs and made me a deal. If I would dig a hole they would give me a 500 gallon tank. Works great and supplies my shop heater, space heater in my inlaw apt, stove in main house, and the generator. As noted in a previous note having your own well is great but you need a constant supply of power to get any water.

/ pto backup generator #44  
15000 watts divided by 746 watts per Horsepower is around 20 HP at the pto to run the gen set, would this be correct? Or do you need a little more for spikes in load? Just wondering what the rating are on those as the little tractor I have only has 21 or 22 pto HP if I remember correctly.

/ pto backup generator #45  
15000 watts divided by 746 watts per Horsepower is around 20 HP at the pto to run the gen set, would this be correct? Or do you need a little more for spikes in load? Just wondering what the rating are on those as the little tractor I have only has 21 or 22 pto HP if I remember correctly.

Your math assumes 100% efficiency which no generator is capable of producing. Allowing for losses, 21 pto hp is adequate for a 12 kw generator at 100% load. Of course you can use a larger generator but 21 hp will not allow 100% output. If you put too much load on an under powered generator, you run the risk of voltage drop which can damage electrical equipment.

/ pto backup generator #46