Hitch Ball on Loader?

/ Hitch Ball on Loader? #1  

Gone Fishin'

Hi Guys,

Please forgive my apparent ignorance -- I'm still pretty new to the world of acreages and tractors. I'd like to be able to shunt my boat trailer with my GC2300. Although I've done so using the ball mount in the rear, I find it wreaks havoc with my back when I lift the trailer to the tractor's level (the trailer jack doesn't drop low enough to meet the tractor). The 3 pt hitch also tends to get in the way when you're trying to manipulate that amount of weight. Are there any potential issues with drilling a hole in the lip of the loader for a ball hitch? Will I be able to do so with a hand or hammer drill? Has anybody used this approach for moving trailers around?

Thanks in advance!

/ Hitch Ball on Loader? #3  
I wouldn't drill a hole in my loader for that. Too much tongue weight from the trailer could either pull the rear wheels off the ground or bow the bucket if you had enough counterweight on the back. The 3 point hitch receiver seems to be a better idea, but I personally have no experience using one with a bucket.

/ Hitch Ball on Loader? #4  
Small trailers, regular tongue weight, few hundred pounds. Not a problem.

/ Hitch Ball on Loader? #5  
I'm thinking about moving a trailer around too. I also would like to move my chipper, it weighs about 1500lbs on the trailer. I'm thinking about one of these. Easy on. easy off and no drilling the bucket

Attachments

• df_1.jpg
    df_1.jpg
    21.5 KB · Views: 542
   / Hitch Ball on Loader? #6  
asylum575 said:
I'm thinking about moving a trailer around too. I also would like to move my chipper, it weighs about 1500lbs on the trailer. I'm thinking about one of these. Easy on. easy off and no drilling the bucket