/ Pre-heat for stick weld? #1  

jake98

Veteran Member
Tractor
53 Cub, 70's JD 410, Kioti 25hst
Do I need to? Is there a rule of thumb?
Thanks.

/ Pre-heat for stick weld? #2  
Let me start by saying I am not an expert, and there are people on here who are, but I have only heard of pre-heating for stick welding cast iron, and more importantly post heating, (letting it cool very slowly) so it does not crack. But just welding mild steel, with a stick I say just start in and git-r-done. Perhaps others with more experience will weigh in here.

James K0UA

/ Pre-heat for stick weld? #3  
A lot of variables to this question, like material thickness, carbon content, etc, etc. Good rule of thumb, yes at least 50, 60 degrees.
Here is the back side of a Lincoln preheat and interpass calculator.;)

Attachments

• Preheat1.jpg
    Preheat1.jpg
    115.5 KB · Views: 391
  • Preheat2.jpg
    Preheat2.jpg
    44.6 KB · Views: 202
   / Pre-heat for stick weld?
A lot of variables to this question, like material thickness, carbon content, etc, etc. Good rule of thumb, yes at least 50, 60 degrees.
Here is the back side of a Lincoln preheat and interpass calculator.;)

Shieldarc, 50-60 degrees above the surrounding metal? or total? what's interpass? (you probably saw this comming.. :D) Thanks.
Oh, and is there a way to determine carbon content?

/ Pre-heat for stick weld? #5  
Interpass temperature goes hand in hand with preheat. In simple terms, don't weld too fast, or too much and overheat the material.
What I usually do is take a propane weed burner and take the moisture out of the material. Within a few seconds you'll see the moisture come to the surface.
Might be easier to just state what you're building.

Couple very good books for any weldor to have on hand.;)

Attachments

• Lincoln Handbook.jpg
    Lincoln Handbook.jpg
    476 KB · Views: 218
  • Metals How to Weld.jpg
    Metals How to Weld.jpg
    290.1 KB · Views: 288
   / Pre-heat for stick weld? #6