Seeding grass...need input

/ Seeding grass...need input #1  

SCOOBY14B

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota BX2660 Ansung B2504 FE loader and Kubota MMM
Trying to get some ideas of best pieces of equipment to use for seeding grass. For new grass thinking of using box blade with teeth (or similar) to tear up ground if needed, pulverizor (or similar) to prep ground/soften, then use 3 pt seeded to spread seed.

MY QUESTION: What would be the BEST thing to use to rake over seed after spreading? I was thinking of using a section of chain link fence, but don't know if that's be best. I don't wanna use anything that is gonna drag too much seed away from where I put it. What are some of you guys using? The seed would be Fescue or Bermuda.

I am not currently using anything as I am contemplating getting into the business (still). I am a FT firefighter and wanting something to do on my 2 days off. I am looking at getting a Kubota 3130 4wd HST with loader, 5' bushhog, 5 box blade and pulverizor. I am wanting to do construction/lot cleanup, redo old yards, new construction lawns/landscaping (seed and sod), bush-hogging, etc. I live in a rural area of NE Georgia.

Thanks for your help.

/ Seeding grass...need input #2  
Grass needs soil contact to germinate and root. It doesn't particularly need (or like) to be buried, even just a little. It's better to drop grass seed ON the (well prepared) surface, then roll the soil to firm it. That will press the seed into the soil for good contact.

The best seeder I've ran on to (rented one a few years back) is made by Brillion. Several madels to suit individual needs.

But in a pinch, a 3-point "spinner" spredder will do the job.

/ Seeding grass...need input #3  
I think box blade rippers would be too far apart and not give you the desired result. A pulverizer would fit the bill.