New Impact Wrench

/ New Impact Wrench #1  

Indian Territory

Bronze Member
Tractor
New Holland PowerStar 75
I got a new impact wrench for Christmas. It's a Dewalt high torque max xr with a 1/2 inch drive. Real world numbers put it at right around 895 foot pounds.

I've needed one for a long time, but have always found something more urgent to spend my money on. Up until now I've been a stand-on-the-wrench kind of operator, now and again fitting a come-along into my Rube Goldberg setup on really stubborn bolts. I'm glad to have graduated!

But my question is, just how much capacity do I need in the real world, and will this model do the job? While I've now and again tinkered with an actual tractor (tire spacing, etc.), almost all the work I do myself is on implements—both building and adjusting them. We don't use Nebraska-sizes planters or anything, but I do have several cat. II implements in the 2,000–3,000 pound range that we put to work on the strawberry acreage. I've got a 10' Maschio Tigre flail mower, a 7' Maschio C tiller, a Rain Flo 2670 raised bed maker and plastic mulch layer, etc.

So my question is, am I set up or do I need something even bigger? Oh, and is Dewalt the one to have? How does it compare to a Milwaukee?

Thanks for the advice.

/ New Impact Wrench #2  
If you're using it for vehicle lugnuts, and general tractor and implement work...I can't imagine it not being enough. I got the Milwaukee M18 high torque a few years ago, and there hasn't been anything I've used it for that it couldn't handle. The only downside was it's size. It was too bulky for some tasks. The M18 mid torque was on sale last year, so I jumped on it. Haven't had a real chance to use it except 1 Jeep tire. That had plenty of power.