Member of the Month: LD1

LD1 & His Family
LD1 & His Family

User Name: LD1

Posts: 10,501 (#24 all-time)

Location: Central Ohio

How long have you been a member of

Been a member for 6 years I think. Found the site shortly after purchasing my Kubota L3400. Not that I had any problems with it, rather to see if any others had problems and how others used their tractor and the types of implements they were using.

What do you like best about

It’s always here for me. If I need help with something, even if not tractor related, members are always willing to help. And even if I don’t need any help, but just have nothing else to do, I have no trouble at all wasting countless hours reading and offering my advice or help to others.

What type of tractor(s) do you own? Kubota L3400, Ford 5500 TLB, Ford 9n

How long have you owned or operated tractors? Probably since I was 11 or 12 mowing with dads 8n ford. So about 20 years

What do you enjoy most about tractors? The amount of work I can get done with the right equipment

How often do you use your tractor? Daily when I am not working my full time job. Which is 12hr shifts and nights. So when I work, there is little time for tractors unfortunately.

LD1 and his little one.
LD1 gets ’em started early on his Ford 5500 TLB.

Tell us about your property: Small ranch home on 5 acres, 1/3 acre pond, 30×50 “shop” set in a woods. But I live in farm country. So my equipment (tractors, saws, backhoe) gets around several thousand acres of farms doing all kinds of work.

Tell us about your vehicles: 2005 Dodge 3500 diesel pulls my 25’ GN 12-ton trailer and Kubota w/ bushhog all over. I enjoy bushhogging as much as I can when I am not at work. When I work, I drive a beater 2001 saturn econo-box. Wife drives a 2008 Sentra and when the roads get bad she has a Dodge ram Daytona 4×4. And we have a Kawasaki prairie ATV used for hunting and trail riding.

Do you have any pets? 2 dogs and 2 cats. Emmy is a female dog that is 11 this year. She is 50% lab, 25% blue tick and 25% rot. 1st year we had her, she got knocked up by a neighbors shar-pei, and we kept one of the pups, lucky. So he is just a mutt. But a very good protector of the home. About once a month he is bringing me a groundhog, or possum, or raccoon, or whatever he catches getting a little too close. Nothing too special about the two house cats. Thought they would keep the mice at bay, but they are just lazy house cats that don’t get up for much.

What sort of modifications or customization have you done to your tractor? All kinds. First thing was remove the ROPS. Mine wasn’t folding and rops in the woods didn’t work well. I added a toolbox behind the seat, forks for the bucket, teeth for the bucket, and a skid plate to protect the hydraulic filter and fittings.

LD1's Kubota Tractor
LD1’s Kubota L3400 Tractor

What sort of tools, attachments or equipment do you use with your tractor on a regular basis? Bushhog and rear blade. The blade is a KK HD 7’. 700#, so it actually does the job as opposed to bouncing across material. The bushhog is a bushhog brand 306. Very HD cutter. I travel all over my area doing mowing jobs with it. About 200 acres per year or so. Average jobs being 4 or 5 acres.

What do you mainly use your tractor for? The Kubota was bought to maintain and mow my place. But everything is pretty under control now, so its main purpose is the mowing side business. My Ford 5500 was purchased 2 years ago when my parents were build a new house. Used it a lot over there digging the basement, tiling, garage footer, etc. Now it gets used a lot in the spring and fall doing field tile and repairing blow-outs for the farmers in the area.

LD1 and family enjoying some winter fun.
LD1 and family enjoying some winter fun.

What do you like/dislike about the area you live in? The area I live in is very rural. I really like that. But the immediate area I am in used to be a farm that was lotted off 20 years ago into a lot of 5 acre lots. So while I live in farm country, I am on a 5 acre lot surrounded by many other 5 acre lots. That I do not like. I’d rather have my acreage surrounded by corn and bean fields.

What sort of terrain is common in your area? Just gently rolling terrain. Not flat like the plains, but no serious hills or slopes

What sort of trees and vegetation are common in your area? Lots of hardwood trees. I love cutting firewood. My parents used to heat with firewood, and I always helped them cut. They quit burning, but I still enjoyed cutting, so now I just sell it.

What’s something most TractorByNet members don’t know about you? I’m pretty open, I think there isn’t much that cannot be found out about be if you search my threads. But a few things I think some may not know (or even be surprised about) are that I am married, have a 4 year old and 8 month old. But maybe even a bigger surprise is that I am not as old as I think most would guess. I am 29.

What are some of your other hobbies? Hunting. Deer, rabbit, squirrel, and ground hog. I also like golfing + beer. Do a lot of golfing in the nice months. Sometimes 3 or 4 times a week. I am not very good at it, but a good escape and reason to tip a few cold ones. (where is that cheers animation). I also just purchased a 3-unit apartment a few months ago. Not really a hobby, but just something else that always has something on the to-do list. I also like making things in the shop. From stupid small things like can crushers with air cylinders to things like my log splitter. I just enjoy machining and fabricating all kinds of stuff with nothing more than scraps.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top