pod removal from atv. "tracks"

/ pod removal from atv. "tracks" #1  

ArlyA

Houghton MI (the Lake Superior snow belt) USA
Tractor
Polaris Boss 6x6 with pods (tracks) Center actuating lawn mower by Husky
With the snow melting down here, the pods came off the boss and wheels put back on this week. The following photos sorta shows the process which should take me less than an hour to do. :unsure: Only takes three different wrenches to do. These pods are made by Soucy and are easier to get off and on, than other manufacturers I've worked with. Let me add, we would not own a UTV or ATV that does not have pods for operating in snow. I've been using machines with them for about 15 years so I'm not new to this job.

Pods are the complete unit with all the parts, whereas the tracks are the rubber part with lugs.

P1100253.jpg

Rears coming off first and the rear pods is just barely raised off the floor. They will need to be rotated slightly to get to the last lug nut.

P1100254.jpg

Pod off and rolled to the back. Just 8 lug bolts to get it off. These rear pods weight over 100lbs each.

P1100255.jpg

I'll post the fronts removel next which is very much the same as most atv's and utv's pods switch would go. Let me know if you like this thread or ask any questions you might have...

Last edited:
   / pod removal from atv. "tracks"
Now the fronts. Let me add that most atv's and utv's with have anti-rotation mounts like you'll see here but our 6x6 doesn't have them in the rear.

In top photo you can see anti-rotation brackets attached to the springs. Some manufacturers use rubber bushings instead of springs. These keep the pods from going to high or low.
P1100257.jpg

Again the pod track is just barly off the floor.

P1100258.jpg

This shows the anti-rotation bracket being unbolted from the boss's A frame.

P1100260.jpg

Front pod off! You can see the difference in the height, they'll make your machine.

P1100261.jpg